FANTASTIC BEASTS… and where to find them

Last night, I finally got a chance to go and watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them after waiting for what feels like forever. *15 year old screaming*I was especially excited to see some more acting from the amazing Eddie Redmayne – he instantly became one of my favourite actors after his breathtaking performance in The Theory of Everything.

I was a little skeptical about the film if i’m honest, as I wasn’t sure if it would be as magical, enchanting and all-consuming as the wizarding wonderful-ness of Harry Potter but I was SO wrong. The film doesn’t really require much Potter knowledge, but the obvious references aren’t so obvious if you haven’t seen any before (yes, I took my mum with me, and she wasn’t sure what a muggle was).

newt-scamander-tina-goldstein-jacob-kowalski-fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-themfantastic_beasts_and_where_to_find_them_review_1479386098394maxresdefault

I watched the film in 3D, and although I don’t usually enjoy this, the 3D was done exceptionally well. If you have the option, i’d definitely watch it over the 2D version. It was really effective in making you feel as if you were there and helped you become even more engrossed.

Can we just talk about Eddie Redmayne for a moment though, please? His acting in this film was just unbelievable – his character, Newt, looks after the magical beasts and wants to protect them from being abolished. He pulls off this character with such charm and sweetness that it’s kind of impossible not to like him. His beasts weren’t far behind – their characters were amazing and really made you laugh out loud, my favourite being the Niffler. The CGI detail was beautiful and every detail of the animals were brought to life – every eyelash and every feather. I love animals as it is, but this just made me want my own suitcase full of beasts.

fantastic_beasts-feature-trailer-screen1fantastic-beasts-movie-trailers-demiguiseFANTASTIC BEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM

The main thing I liked was the story – for a moment, I could just stop my mind from thinking about my massive to-do list and switch off. I was immersed in this fantasy world, rooting for Newt and his beasts. The plot is very clever, with an excellent touch of foreshadowing – it made me laugh and almost made me cry at one point, too. All the actors are brilliant and I hope to see more of them in the second film which is coming in 2018 I believe! There are plans for there to be five films in this spin-off series, which makes me ridiculously excited.

If you get a chance to go and see this film, don’t even think about it, just book your tickets and go because I bet you will LOVE it.

FANTASTIC BEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM

Leave a Reply

